img_1817
By: Yocelin De Lira

Victor has never been affectionate with, however, everyone told me the moment we got married it would all change. My groom took a few steps towards me and planted a soft unsophisticated kiss on my lips. This was followed by a mixture of applause and screams from the audience. I eagerly waited for the sensual work that had begun to be brought to completion.

For the remaining part of the wedding, I wondered what our first would be like. I was expectant and turned my little brain into a questionnaire. I couldn’t wait to escape the crowd and have time with my beau. As the day wrapped up and we got ready to drive off, my ‘god-mother’ held my hands and took me to the front of the car where no one will interrupt us. With a smile that spoke volumes she said, “Today, you are going to be with a man for your first time. Make sure you are sweet in bed.”

I drove away without a discourse on what, being “sweet in bed” meant. As we travel to the cottage the excitement of finally being with Victor was becoming real. Although

Victor has never been affectionate I never thought he would be this paranoid.  Within an hour of getting there, Victor was nervously avoiding and checking the windows. I decided to go to the restroom and get ready for the wedding night. I changed out of my wedding dress, let my hair down and mentally prepare myself for the first time. I was alone and afraid of his reaction to my body. Victor and I were never the most passionate or affectionate couple, but that was because the status the family held in society. Although Victor ALWAYS respected there was a part of me that wanted Victor to let loose and take control. However, everyone told me the moment we got married it would all change. I am hopeful this is the case for tonight.

As I walk out to the bathroom I stood to face reality. Our room was filled with roses petals and champagne, but an empty bed.  Now here I am laying down waiting to consume our wedding, while he is waiting for something. Last few months I cried. For two weeks, when a fresh longing for companionship erupted in my heart, my emotions were laid waste with want. I ached for emotional and physical intimacy. When I slid into bed at night, my heart yearned for a man to replace my heating pad and a friend to fill my loneliness.

Review

I wanted to understand Victor. and Elizabeth relationship better. I wanted to explore Elizabeth emotions toward her husband the night.