tumblr_l7ayy1Hfyf1qa4hv0

I don’t know about the other students in the course at large, and maybe my assumptions were trivial, but as a child I believed Frankenstein to be the monster and not Victor Frankenstein the scientist. I haven’t been under this impression for quite sometime, however this was undoubtedly the case in my youth.  Frankenstein was a ferocious monster, incapable of effectively communicating with the human world, physically unappealing, and seeking to randomly destroy other life. I cannot say how I came about these conclusions, however I knew they could not be self generated ideas. After all, most preconceived notions are formed by the influence of one’s surrounding cultural environment. In the novel the monster does possess the ability to converse, and although physically unappealing, experiences a desire for human love. When this love is denied him, he turns violent, unable to comprehend why he is unworthy of the same treatment as the other humans he encounters. He is even rejected by his own creator, something that would lead to huge psyche flaws and an inability to deal with this isolation, as indicated by the ensuing killing spree. I googled the phrase “why do people think Frankenstein is the monster” in hopes of finding individuals who believed the same myth as myself. On another blog in particular, a mom discussed the concern she had for the misleading reference to “Frankenstein’s brain” in the opening credits of a popular cartoon. http://blogcritics.org/culture/article/frankenstein-is-not-the-monster/ While the words are sung in the opening credits, the characters of the cartoon open the brain of the monster, implying that Frankenstein is indeed the monster and not the scientist, his creator.  I do not know the origin of my false beliefs about Frankenstein, more specifically his actual identity, however I am not alone in my assumptions. Our culture helped shape not only my beliefs about the character but is continually and currently shaping the ideas of this generation’s youth.

